Daylight Award 2020: Research Architecture

Daylight Award 2020, Building Contest, Dual Prize News, Research Design, Image

Daylight Award 2020

Research Architecture Competition: Information incl jury & previous laureates

16 Sep 2019

Daylight Award 2020

The Daylight Award 2020, the dual prize for research and architecture, is now open for nominations

Copenhagen, 2019 – The nominations for The Daylight Award 2020, are now open. The exciting opportunity for the global community of researchers and architects, to consider and nominate their fellow professionals, will stay open until 1st of November 2019.

Daylight Award 2020

Photos Alain Herzog

One name, two prizes

This dual prize is organised under the common name with the purpose of creating a closer correlation between the daylight research and architecture, emphasising the dependency of theory and practice and connecting the two worlds that can learn from each other and create better living conditions.

A daylight simulation of an atrium designed by Foggo Arch:
A daylight simulation of an atrium designed by Foggo Arch

The nominations of the researchers working with daylight as one the key elements of nature, could come from the areas of natural science, human science or social science. The Daylight Award in Research will be given to an individual or a group of researches, whose work puts special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being and performance.

The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to individuals or a group of architects whose projects showcase unique use of daylight. Special emphasis will be put on architecture that considers the overall quality of human life and its value to society.

Portrait of Hiroshi Sambuichi, Laureate of The Daylight Award 2018 for Daylight in Architecture

The previous laureates

Since 1980, The Daylight Award has been rewarded to a distinguished professionals from all over the world. From Danish architects Jørn Utzon and Henning Larsen, to Swiss architects Bob Gysin, Peter Zumthor,and Gigon & Guyer to Richard Perez and James Carpenter from USA, French Lacaton & Vassal, and Japanese Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa (SANAA) to name a few. Laureates for 2016 were Steven Holl from USA for his architecture and Marilyne Andersen from Switzerland for her research.

The Daylight Architecture Award 2018 winner – Japanese architect Hiroshi Sambuichi:
Daylight Award 2020

Last year, 2018, The Daylight Architecture Award was rewarded to the Japanese architect Hiroshi
Sambuichi, author of a.o. Shizuki Castle House and Naoshima Hall in Japan. In pursuit of balance before
developing the design, Sambuichi investigates the landscape’s seasonal climate and experiments with
physical models on site over one to two years. The architecture thus emerges through these
considerations. His works are rooted in the local environment and are manifestations of the skilful use
of the moving powers of nature.

Air traffic control tower simulation by Greg Ward and Charles Ehrlich:
Air traffic control tower simulation by Greg Ward and Charles Ehrlich

Greg Ward, the creator of the revolutionary software simulation programme, Radiance, is the laureate of The Daylight Award for his research in 2018. Ward has investigated the interaction of light and matter across a wide range of physical scales, from unique building materials with specialized optical properties, to the spatial definition of complex building interiors and facades, and to our urban and natural environments.

Radiance is widely applied in architecture, product design, horticulture, motion picture, health effects and medical research. It has also been utilized in unique situations such as assisting astronauts in training to work under the harsh lighting conditions in space.

Daylight Award 2020

The Jury

The highly acclaimed jury for The Daylight Award, which will be in session in the beginning of 2020, evaluating the received nominations in both categories, consists of:

Marilyne Andersen, Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies and Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC) at EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, EPFL), Switzerland; laureate of The Daylight Award in 2016, Anne Lacaton, Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris, France; laureate of The Daylight Award in 2011 and winner of the EU Mies Award in 2019, Juhani Pallasmaa, Finnish architect, writer, teacher and practicing architect, Aki Kawasaki, Associate Professor of Biology and Medicine, University of Lausanne, Ophthalmic Hospital Jules Gonin, Lausanne, Switzerland, Koen Steemers, Professor of Sustainable Design, Cambridge University, UK, and James Carpenter, Founder of James Carpenter Design Associates in New York, US, laureate of The Daylight Award in 2010.

Portrait of Greg Ward, Laureate of The Daylight Award 2018 for Daylight Research

The foundations

The Daylight Award has been founded by the philanthropic foundations, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG. Such direction also demonstrates the consistency throughout the goals of all the companies within VKR Holding, owned by VILLUM FONDEN. Companies producing roof windows, vertical windows, and solar thermal energy solutions, sharing the common vision: daylight, fresh air and better environment. The success of these companies has enabled the foundations to support a wide range of non-profit purposes, in scientific, social, cultural and environmental projects, such as The Daylight Award.

About The Daylight Award

The bi-annual prize honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. The award puts specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice. The prize is given every second year in two categories; Daylight Award for Research and Daylight Award for Architecture. The award is given as two personal prizes, and each to the sum of €100,000.
More about the award and the jury at

Daylight Award 2020 images / information received 160919

Hanasaki House, Yokohama by MoNo

Daylight Spaces Competition
Competition “Daylight Spaces” raises awareness for the topic daylight – Nagashima interior:
Nagashima interior - Daylight Spaces Competition
photo : Nagashima and Partner, Architects, Yokohama
Daylight Spaces Competition

City Pool and Turkish Baths
Design: Napper Architects
City Pool and Turkish Baths
image from architects

City Pool and Turkish Baths in Newcastle

Architecture Competitions – Selection from early 2010

Public Design Festival – duepercinque contest, Milan
duepercinque contest

Atlantic City Boardwalk Holocaust Memorial Inc. Contest, New Jersey, USA
Atlantic City Boardwalk Holocaust Memorial Competition

House of Oxymorons Competition, Poland
House of Oxymorons Contest

Zerofootprint and Re-Skinning Award, Canada
Building Re-Skinning Competition

Frederic Chopin Architectural Contest, Poland
Frederic Chopin House Competition

Music Studio Design Competition, Haiti
Music Studio Design Competition : Wyclef Jean’s charity Yéle Haiti

Building Competitions : Archive

Comments / photos for the Daylight Award 2020 page welcome

Website: Architecture