Stirling Prize 2005 Winner – Architecture UK

Stirling Prize, Architecture, Shortlist, Betting Odds

Stirling Prize 2005

UK Architecture Award 2005 – Winner : Buildings + Architects

Stirling Prize – 2005

Scottish Parliament wins – 16 Oct 2005

RIAS announced 27.07.05 that the Scottish Parliament Building – as expected – is shortlisted for the Stirling Prize

RIBA Stirling Prize : 2005

Shortlist – Buildings:

Bennetts Associates: Brighton Library
EMBT/RMJM: Scottish Parliament
Zaha Hadid Architects: BMW Central Building in Leipzig
Foster and Partners: McLaren Technology Centre
O’Donnell + Tuomey: Lewis Gluckman Gallery in Cork
Alsop Design: Fawood Children’s Centre

Early favourites vary wildly: the AJ state Bennetts are outsiders whilst BD state Bennetts’ library is the bookies favourite. In fact Readabet’s initial odds show it equal with Foster’s McLaren building. No mention of the Scottish Parliament, except BD’s Ellis Woodman who tips it for the Prize. Confused?!

Betting Odds online once Stirling Prize shortlist announced

Images of Stirling Prize shortlist architects 2005
Lewis Gluckman Gallery
O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects: Lewis Gluckman Gallery, Cork

Stirling Prize Building
EMBT/RMJM Architects : Scottish Parliament Building

Betting Odds –

5/2 McLaren Technology Centre, Woking, Surrey – Foster and Partners
5/2 Jubilee Library, Brighton, Sussex – Bennetts Associates with Lomax Cassidy + Edwards

7/2 Lewis Glucksman Gallery, University College, Cork, Ireland – O’Donnell + Tuomey
5/1 BMW Central Building, Leipzig, Germany – Zaha Hadid Architects
5/1 The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh – Enric Miralles : EMBT / RMJM Ltd
7/1 Fawood Children’s Centre, Harlesden, NW10 – Alsop Design Ltd

Stirling Prize 2005
The early favourites appear to be Zaha Hadid’s almost universally praised BMW building and the infinitely more controversial Scottish Parliament, while Alsop’s nursery and the Bennetts’ PFI library are probably the outsiders.

This leaves O’Donnell + Tuomey’s Gallery in Cork and the McLaren Offices by Foster and Partners. Both would certainly be acclaimed as winners with the Irish scheme celebrated for its classy architecture and the Foster & Partners project backed by the office specialists.
The winner will be announced at an awards night held in Benson and Forsyth‘sNational Museum of Scotland extension on 15 October.

The judging panel for the Stirling Prize included AJ editor Isabel Allen, engineer Max Fordham, architect Piers Gough, RIBA president Jack Pringle and journalist Joan Bakewell.


Stirling Prize : main page

RIBA Gold Medal


Website: Architectural Walking Tours

Pritzker Prize

Civic Trust Awards

Comments on the Stirling Prize Winner 2005 welcome

Stirling Prize Award 2005 – page

Website: Building