AR Awards for Emerging Architecture

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture, Buildings, Projects, News, Design, Property

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture

International Architecture Awards run by Architectural Review: Entry Info

2 Aug 2016

AR Emerging Architecture Awards 2016

AR Emerging Architecture Awards 2016

Emerging Architecture Awards, 26 and 27 September 2016

The Barbican, London, UK

Information from the Architectural Review:

AR Emerging Architecture Awards 2016 judge Valerio Olgiati:
Valerio Olgiati
photograph © Alberto Venzago

Now in their 18th year, the AR Emerging Architecture Awards are the world’s most popular and prestigious prize for up-and-coming architects. Some of the benefits of entering Emerging Architecture are:

– Prize fund of up to £10,000
– All entries will be displayed in a permanent gallery on the AR website and considered for a profile
– Have your work published in a special edition of the Architectural Review
– Receive recognition on a global stage

Previous winners of the Awards have included Sou Fujimoto (Japan), Thomas Heatherwick (UK), Sean Godsell (Australia), Jurgen Mayer H. (Germany) and Li Xiaodong (China).

Exciting Judge announcement for Emerging Architecture:

Paspels School Building, Switzerland, by Valerio Olgiati
Paspels School Building by Valerio Olgiati
photo © Archive Olgiati

This year the AR Emerging Architecture Awards offer a crucial opportunity to have your work judged by Eminent Swiss architect Valerio Olgiati. Olgiati’s many acclaimed projects include The Yellow House museum in Flims, Switzerland, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Perm, Russia, the schoolhouse in Paspels, the visitor centre for the Swiss National Park in Zernez, the House for a Musician in Scharans and the residential complex Schleife in Zug and Villa Além in Portugal.

A house for Essex
picture © FAT

Charles Holland, founder of Ordinary Architecture and previous director of FAT Architecture, will also be judging this years Awards.

New for the 2016 entry criteria:

Finalists will be offered a contribution for travel expenses dependant on location. Entrants need to be available on 26th and 27th September 2016 to attend if selected as a finalist for live judging. Finalists will be informed by August if they have been successful.

The AR Emerging Architecture Awards celebrate excellence in completed work. Entries can be made across a very broad spectrum of project types. Buildings, interiors, landscaping, refurbishment, urban projects, temporary installations, furniture and product designs are all eligible. Projects must be built, and the age limit for entrants is 45.


To see all listed projects on a single map please follow this link.

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Maggie's London
photo © Maggie’s Centres

RIBA Awards

Pritzker Prize

Icon Buildings

Architecture Walking Tours Europe

WAF Awards

American Architecture Awards

AR+D Awards for Emerging Architecture

RIBA Gold Medal

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture 2007

Deadline 10 Sep

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture Jury

Shirley Blumberg
Caroline Bos
Peter Davey
Shuhei Endo
Jo Noero

Types: interiors; urban design; landscape; bridges; temporary structures; manufactured products

Age: 45 or under

Total prize money: £15,000

Entries: AR Awards, Greater London House, Hampstead Road, London NW1 7EJ

Fee: £60 per entry, 5 entries allowed

Info: Lynne Jackson

Comments / photos for the AR Awards for Emerging Architecture page welcome

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture – page

Website: Architecture