Swiss Art Awards 2014 – Architecture

Swiss Art Awards 2014, Buildings, Basel Convention Center, Messezentrum

Swiss Art Awards 2014

Architecture Award Switzerland – Architectural Design

5 + 1 Apr 2014

Swiss Art Awards 2014

Swiss Art Awards 2014 announce participating artists, architects and critics and curators

Exhibition: Jun 17 – 22, 2014
Opening: Jun 16, 2014, 6 pm
Hall 4, Basel Convention Center (Messezentrum)

The Swiss Federal Office for Culture announced the list of participants in the Swiss Art Award 2014. Participants have been chosen to enter the competition upon selection from the Confederate Art Committee. Headed by Nadia Schneider Willen (Chairman), the committee, which includes Giovanni Carmine, Julie Enckell Julliard, Jean-Luc Manz, Andreas Reuter, Anselm Ignaz Stalder and Noah Stolz, selected 46 Swiss artists and artists who reside in Switzerland, as well as 4 architects and 18 critics and curators, from a total of 460 entries. The exhibition presenting works by the participants takes place in conjunction with Art Basel. The Swiss Art Awards thus offer insight into current art and architecture making in Switzerland while showing the vibrancy and diversity of the contemporary art scene.

!Mediengruppe Bitnik (Zurich), Nicole Bachmann (Zurich), Stéphane Barbier Bouvet (Brussels), Seline Baumgartner (Zurich/New York), Pauline Beaudemont (Geneva), Vanessa Billy (Zurich), Alan Bogana (Geneva/Rome), Kim Seob Boninsegni (Geneva), Manuel Burgener (Burgdorf), Claudia Comte (Grancy), Collectif_fact (Geneva), Collective Berta Koch (Zurich), Andrea Crociani (Powerstock / Bridport), Emilie Ding (Berlin), Christopher Füllemann (Oakland), Gaël Grivet (Vernier), Dagmar Heppner (Zurich), Jonas Hermenjat (Carouge), Dunja Herzog (Basel), Andreas Hochuli (Leipzig), Thomas Julier (Brig-Glis), Florence Jung (Bienne/Biel), Jan Kiefer (Basel), Dominique Koch (Basel), Nuri Koerfer (Zurich/Berlin), Marc Lee (Eglisau), Raphael Linsi (Berlin), Gabriela Löffel (Bern/Geneva), Luc Mattenberger (Geneva), Guy Meldem (Apples), Kaspar Müller (Zurich), Alexandra Navratil (Zurich), Cat Tuong Nguyen (Zurich), Nico Krebs & Taiyo Onorato (Ottenbach/Montagny la Ville), Guillaume Pilet (Lausanne), Fabio Marco Pirovino (Basel/New York), Jessica Pooch (Zurich), Marta Riniker-Radich (Carouge), Emanuel Rossetti (Basel), Christian Schoch (Basel), Karin Schuh (Zurich), Pascal Schwaighofer (Zurich), Markus Schwander (Basel), Jules Spinatsch (Zurich), Hannah Weinberger (Basel), Annina Matter / Urs Zahn (Bern)

CKÖ (Zurich), Hanna Kronstrand (Zurich), LLAC (Lausanne), Sascha Roesler (Zurich)

CKô and a key project:
CKô CKô project

Hanna Kronstrand and a key project:
Hanna Kronstrand work Hanna Kronstrand project


Sascha Roeslerand a key project:
Sascha Roesler Sascha Roesler project

Art and Architecture critics and curators
Werner Blaser (Basel), Emilie Bujès (Geneva), Sigismond de Vajay (Vevey), Esther Eppstein (Zurich), Aita Flury (Zürich), Heinrich Gartentor (Horrenbach), Andri Gerber (Zurich), Jeanne Graff (Jouxtens), Urs Küenzi (Berlin), Elise Lammer (Berlin), Quinn Latimer (Basel), Hannes Mayer (Zurich), Michèle Novak (Zurich), Nele Dechmann & Nicola Ruffo (Zurich), Manuel Scheiwiller (Basel), Benjamin Sommerhalder (Zurich), Boris Szélpal (Solothurn), Eveline Wüthrich (Basel)

Werner Blaser and a key project:
Werner Blaser Werner Blaser building

Andri Gerber and a key project:
Andri Gerber Andri Gerber work

Christophe Antipas and a key project:
Christophe Antipas Christophe Antipas work

Aita Flury and a key project:
Aita Flury Aita Flury work

Boris Szélpal and a key project:
Boris Szélpal Boris Szélpal work

Confederate Art Committee 2014
Nadia Schneider Willen (Chairman), Giovanni Carmine, Julie Enckell Julliard, Jean-Luc Manz, Andreas Reuter, Anselm Ignaz Stalder and Noah Stolz

Expert Advisors
Mireille Adam Bonnet (architecture), Raffael Dörig (digital art), Federica Martini (visual art) and Julika Rudelius (visual art)

From the selected projects, 10 winners will be granted the Swiss Art Award. The winners will be announced at the exhibition opening for the Swiss Art Awards 2014 on Monday, June 16. Winners will receive a monetary prize of 25,000 CHF. The Swiss Federal Office for Culture supports each of the 50 participants artists and architects with a sum of 5,000 CHF to cover their production costs for their presentations at the exhibition. A catalogue for the Swiss Art Awards 2014 will be published in the fall by the Swiss Office for Culture, presenting the 10 winners and their work.

The exhibition accompanying the Swiss Art Award takes place since 20 years, in conjunction with the international art fair, Art Basel, and attracts over 8,000 visitors from around the world.

For more information on the accompanying program and the participants’ profiles at the Swiss Art Award go to

Aarau Bus Station Canopy, Switzerland (not connected with these awards, for ilustration only):
Bus Station Canopy Switzerland 6
photo from TL

Swiss Art Awards 2014
Award ceremony and opening: June 16, 2014, 6 pm
Exhibition: June 17-22, Hall 4, Basel Convention Center (Messezentrum)
Hours: daily from 10 am to 8 pm (Sun, until 7 pm)
Free admission

Swiss Art Awards 2014 information from Swiss Art Awards

To see all listed projects on a single map please follow this link.

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Mies van der Rohe Awards

World Architecture Festival Awards

Pritzker Prize

RIBA Gold Medal Award

Comments / photos for the Swiss Art Awards 2014 – Basel Convention Center (Messezentrum) page welcome

Swiss Art Awards – page

No tags for this post.