Five Finalists for Mies van der Rohe Awards 2015, Shortlist, Buildings, Winner, News, Architects

Mies van der Rohe Awards 2015 Finalists

European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Shortlisted Buildings + Architects

25 Feb 2015

Five Finalists Announced for Mies van der Rohe Awards 2015

Mies van der Rohe Award Winners in 2015

Wednesday 25 February at 12 noon GMT.

Europe House, 32 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3EU

5 Finalists announced in London: Ravensburg Art Museum, Danish Maritime Museum, Antinori Winery, Philharmonic Hall Szczecin and Saw Swee Hock Student Centre LSE.

Save the date on May 7 and 8 for the finalists’ lectures, the exhibition opening and the ceremony celebrations.

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced today at the press conference that has taken place at Europe House London, the five finalists who will compete for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. The speakers in the press conference have been Giovanna Carnevali, Director of the FundacióMies van der Rohe; Alessandro Senesi, Deputy Head of Creative Europe at the European Commission; and Tony Chapman, member of the 2015 Jury.

Ravensburg Art Museum, Ravensburg by Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei

Office: LedererRagnarsdóttirOei
Authors: Arno Lederer(IC), JórunnRagnarsdóttirand Marc Oei(DE)

Ravensburg Art Museum

Ravensburg Art Museum
photo : Roland Halbe

Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør by BIG ‐ Bjarke Ingels Group

Office:BIG – BjarkeIngels Group
Authors:BjarkeIngels and David Zahle (DK)

Danish Maritime Museum

Danish Maritime Museum
photo : Rasmus Hjortsho

Antinori Winery, San Casciano Vsl di Pesa, Firenze by Archea Associati

Authors: Giovanni Polazzi, Laura Andreini, Marco Casamontiand Silvia Fabi(IT)

Antinori Winery

Antinori Winery
photo : Pietro Savorelli

Philarmonic Hall Szczecin, Szczecin by BarozziVeiga; Studio A4

Office:Barozzi / Veiga
Authors: Alberto Veiga(ES) and FabrizioBarozzi(IT)

Philarmonic Hall Szczecin

Philarmonic Hall Szczecin
photo © Simon Menges

Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics, London by O’Donnell + Tuomey

Office: O’Donnell + Tuomey(IE)
Authors: Sheila O’Donnell, John Tuomeyand Willie Carey (IE)

Saw Swee Hock

Saw Swee Hock
photo © Dennis Gilbert

Find more about the works here:

Save the date on May 7 and 8

On May 8 the name of the 2015 laureates will be announced at a special event at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. The 2015 Prize exhibition and a celebration to acknowledge the work of all the architects and people who have been involved in the Prize process will take place that same day.

The touring exhibition, discussions and lectures will be presented in different European and International cities between 2015 and 2016 and will connect with the next edition of the Prize that will take place in 2017.

The exhibition with the 420 nominated works can now be visited at the Barcelona School

of Architecture (ETSAB) until March 19.

Prize awarded in May 2015

Location: Europe House, 32 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3EU, England, UK


Contemporary Architecture

English Architecture Design – chronological list

Stirling Prize

American Architecture Awards

Pritzker Prize architects

Mies van der Rohe Awards Winner 2011 : Neues Museum

London Architecture Links – chronological list

Comments / photos for the Mies van der Rohe Awards Nominations page welcome