Buber-Rosenzweig Medal: Award, Germany

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal, Winner, Daniel Libeskind, 2010, Photo, News, Germany, Image

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal Germany

International Award for Architect Daniel Libeskind – 2010 Winner

9 Mar 2010

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal


LIBESKIND IS FIRST-EVER ARCHITECT TO RECEIVE FAMED AWARDStudio Daniel Libeskind is pleased to announce that Daniel Libeskind has been chosen as the 2010 recipient of the Buber-Rosenzweig Medal, which was awarded on Sunday, March 7, 2010 in Augsburg, Germany.

Mr. Libeskind is the first architect to ever receive this honor which is bestowed by the DKR (German Coordinating Council of Societies for Christian-Jewish Cooperation).

Past recipients have included musicians Yehudi Menuhin (1989) and Daniel Barenboim (2004), Leah Rabin (1998), Joschka Fischer (2003), Nobel Prize winning author Isaac Bashevis Singer and former Presidents of Germany Joannes Rau (2000) and Richard von Weizsäcker (1995).

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal winner in 2010 – Architect Daniel Libeskind

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal winner
photo © Michael Klinkhamer Photography

The Buber-Rosenzweig Medal is an annual prize awarded uninterruptedly since 1968 by the DKR (German Coordinating Council of Societies for Christian-Jewish Cooperation) to individuals, initiatives, or institutions, which have actively contributed to Christian-Jewish understanding.

Forty-four different societies belong to the DKR. The name of the prize honors the memory of the Austrian-Jewish philosopher, translator, and educator Martin Buber (1878-1965) and German-Jewish theologian Franz Rosenzweig (1886-1929).

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal information from Studio Daniel Libeskind

Location:Augsburg, Germany